petit déjeuner pour moi et headphones
Yesterday, I started talking about breakfast. I'm a firm believer in the importance of breakfast. I understand why people tend to skip it, what with the mad rush that is every morning. But, really, if we could will ourselves to wake up extra early, being able to sit for a leisurely breakfast will be such a dream. Reality check, I have to make it myself. <sad face>
I always enjoyed staying at a hotel where every morning there was a breakfast buffet. The thing I would try to take advantage of is the egg station. I love having eggs freshly made any-style. I like boiled eggs but not the food service kind that you just buy in bags. The 5-minute egg is what I like. Whites firm and completely done but with the center of the yolk just ever so slightly darker in color and maybe not solid yet. It's moist without being runny. So good, but usually not available. I've tried ordering this at restaurants and they got it right literally only one time, at the Courtyard's restaurant in Ocean City, MD. So for egg stations, I usually get an omelet.
I also like poached eggs, with the center just slightly runny. Most places make it too runny so when I order Eggs Benedict, I feel like they don't always get it right. Or maybe it's swimming in Hollandaise. Or maybe it's because I realize now that I don't really like the typical English muffin. Also, why do I have to choose between Canadian Bacon and spinach? If you gave me the ingredients, starting with a properly poached egg, canadian bacon, sautéed spinach, maybe some cheese and hollandaise on the side, I think I could put something together myself that will make me very happy. White toast will suffice as long as it's proper bread. Maybe a bagel, but I do prefer bagels with Philly. Has to be Philly. A croissant is probably my favorite bread for breakfast but that would be overkill with all the ingredients in Eggs Benedict.
Another thing I quite enjoy having for breakfast is corned beef. Not like Irish-style corned beef but Filipino style hash. You take regular old canned corned beef, preferably from Brazil and not Uruguay if Libby's and you mix it with some kind of sofrito: onions, garlic, tomatoes left to cook until it's mush, then you add large pieces of diced potatoes and it becomes something very much not like just canned corned beef. Serve it with freshly steamed white rice, jasmine works well, and maybe a side of vegetables. I like cucumber. Cabbage works too. Don't forget the eggs. Any-style. <chef's kiss>
Nowadays, it's not unusual for me to have oat bran but only if we have bananas and vanilla granola. With some black coffee and a side of the Today show, I'm good to go. Monday morning? Well, I don't love scheduling things on a Monday. The weekend was really busy and I didn't finish everything I needed to do. I was up until almost 2AM running laundry yesterday and yet all the laundry baskets are still full. Changing bedsheets does not help. Weekends also mean towels need to be washed and then there's the new stuff. Five hoodies can easily fill up the hamper. Ugh, this is driving me insane.
I really hate Mondays. But I have a recording lesson scheduled today so I think it will be a good Monday. I am also hoping to test out any headphones that they might have in the store to see if I can get something that is a little different from the Sony. I love the Sony MDR-7506 for recording but for mixing and mastering, I kind of wonder if I would benefit from having something open back. Right now, I'm really looking at Audio Technica and Sennheiser options. I'm pretty sure I saw some on sale. Or maybe I could try out the Beyerdynamics. Hmmm...
Playlist Recommendation: I Don't Like Mondays, The Boomtown Rats
Comments
Post a Comment