these eyes

The yearly visit to the eye doctor is actually something I look forward to. Our eye doctor is the one guy that I think everyone in the family will agree is the most pleasant person to see. He also never pushes anyone to buy anything or get any service. Everything is offered, of course, but there is never any pressure. To arrive at our appointment and be told that we missed it by two days was a total shocker. For sure, it is possible that I put the wrong date on my calendar. That I opted out of the text messages also meant that they would not be texting me appointment reminders. I told them that I also did not receive any calls, either reminding us that we had an appointment on that day or that we were running late. They said that they don't call. So it was truly a problem that I had opted out of the text. I am convinced that the possibility also exists that it is the person who set up the appointment who made a mistake. Either way, what were we supposed to do? The doctor simply did his best to fit us in. There really is nobody as awesome as him.

The sad thing is that even if I desperately want to give him some business, most of the time, the pricing he offers for the products simply cannot compete with Costco. This isn't his fault though. I think they use Luxxotica and the pricing isn't set by the doctor's office. I did get reading glasses once and for a time, I was using disposable contact lenses with transitions, which I would order through his office. But now I'm switching to progressive eyeglasses and I opted to go back to Costco for them. They're pricey, even at Costco, but I would probably pay twice as much if I ordered at the eye doctor. I remember them pricing out a pair for me and it was definitely over $500. I'm thankful that Costco sells the multi-focal contact lenses, even if they have to be ordered. They're also quite expensive but I would still order them anyway.

When you get to my age, the best option seems to be glasses. If you've always worn glasses, or in my case contact lenses, to correct your distance vision, eventually, you're going to have to deal with the reading problem. Nobody wears bi-focals anymore, testament to how far we've come. Progressives don't have the ridiculous line. They're really quite nice. The other option is surgery. With LASIK, you have people like my sister who have the distance problem fixed so they only need to bust out eyeglasses for reading. But I am truly terrified of the idea of messing with my eyes. Surgery is totally out of the question. Multi-focal contacts are great, even if my distance vision isn't so good. At least I can now read my phone with contacts on. The progressive eyeglasses are better though because everything is potentially clear. But like with all glasses, at some point, they come sliding down my nose. If the nose pads are changed, maybe this will work out better and I will be inspired to wear them more frequently but full time? I just don't think it's going to happen. These are probably the lightest pair I've owned and they are comfortable. Flex titanium and ultra-thin lenses help a lot. I'm told that they won't rust, like every pair I've owned with metal parts. If I stopped wearing moisturizer, will that help? Not happening. If I get a little sweaty, they'll slide off too and there is no escaping that. But one can hope. 



Playlist Recommendation: If You Could Only See, Tonic


Comments