and we're back up again... or are we?
Reinstalling Waveform last night did the trick. I was able to test record and it was clean of the pops and crackles. I've also discovered that the SM58 can actually pick up other sounds in the room. I tested it recording the guitar with the microphone pointed at just the right spot. Naturally, the low output from the mic had me turning the input knob up 3/4 of the way and as soon as I finished, in the ensuing silence I heard the sound of... the shower.
At this point, I'm just laughing like a crazy person. The frustration and relief cycles are exhausting. Maybe the steady drone of vehicles coming from 422 will be masked enough by the instrument. In the quieter moments of the songs, if it's picked up, I'm just going to have to live with it. I probably ought to look into noise reduction digitally, post-recording, but I already know that nothing beats a proper recording environment. <Sad face>
It's another day, gotta make another go of it. Try another driver, uninstall, reinstall, restart, re-record. Wow, I am learning so much about computers in this process too. Look at all my searches. What is DRTM SMM protection? How to disable TPM in BIOS. I don't remember any of this from when I would build my first computer and install an operating system by myself back in the early 2000s. I even did that for my friend! Today, I am so thankful for access to the internet. But unfortunately, even with the driver from Gio that got me up and running, the Mbox2 has not performed properly. I think I now understand those guys in reddit that said, toss that piece of junk out the window and get a Focusrite. <Sad face> As I pack the interface back into its box, I see the rest of the gear and comfort myself with the thought that the only thing I really can't use is the interface. I just have to get a new one. In the meantime, the AT2020 is my best bud.
At the risk of being heard by the neighbor and annoying them, I've decided to play music on my studio monitors. I don't care anymore. I can vocalize while singing along and enjoy myself for one day. The 15 year old speakers can still play. I don't understand why people complain that there isn't enough bass. I can't stand it when people drive by, all car windows and sunroof open and then they're playing some sh*t I can't understand and it's all just boom boom boom. I can't. I just can't.
I rearranged the desk a little bit. I actually put books in between the bookends. Looks nice. Speaking of, the music stand arrived yesterday, I already started using it last night. It works quite well. It can hold up the binder with all my music. I took a quick pic with one of my daughter's bass books on it. The only thing is, if I use this, I will need a table to put it on. When I practice, there is always bound to be some stool next to me, or an ottoman, and the desk that holds the computer etc. So it is not a problem. I would make an effort to memorize lyrics and chords, but until then, this does the job.
Comments
Post a Comment